Wednesday, 4 May 2016

Jayalalithaa, Karunanidhi file nominations, Vaiko not to contest

AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa filed her papers from Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency here.
She was given a rousing reception by party cadres, who lined up both sides of the road, as she reached the venue. She later waved to the AIADMK activists.
Jayalalithaa won a by-election last year after the Karnataka High Court acquitted her in the disproportionate assets case.
DMK leader Karunanidhi filed his nomination from Tiruvarur constituency, around 350 km from here.
He will be contesting for the 13th time and for a second time from his native place.
Another chief ministerial candidate, Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK, filed his papers from Pennagaram constituency in Dharmapuri district.
Meanwhile, in a surprise turn of events, MDMK leader Vaiko announced he won’t contest the assembly elections after charging the DMK with vitiating the atmosphere by trying to create caste conflict.
Earlier he was to contest from Kovilpatti constituency.