Tuesday, 3 May 2016

1,203 candidates to fight for Kerala’s 140 assembly seats

The principal fight is between the ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front and the CPI-M-led Left Democratic Front. The BJP-led NDA is also in the fray.
The maximum number of 145 candidates is in Malappuram district, which also has the maximum number of constituencies (16).
The hilly district of Wayanad with just three assembly constituencies has the least number of candidates (29).
Of the 1,203 candidates, 109 are women.